Pillars of Character KCSI 005 Pillars 008 Pillars 002 Pillars 005

As an art teacher,  I have found a lot of interesting blogs and art websites that can be very helpful in the lines of professional development.  One of my favorite sites is the AOE or Art Of Education.  While reading it the other day,  I ran across an article that talked about “Legacy Installations”.  I quickly realized that we are already doing this right here in Red Oak,  Iowa.  In fact,  we have made these for the last 3 years.  While creating these works of art, the children get to experience working together as a team on a piece that will be displayed for years to come, it will be their legacy.  Some of the legacy installations we have made in the past include our bottle cap project and our Chihuly chandelier.  This year our  legacy installation is once again being made partially from recycled materials.   It’s in the form of woven tapestries that go along with the Character Counts program.

I posted about these magnificent works of student artwork a few weeks ago,  but I just wanted to give you an update on the progress we are making.  I hope you enjoy the pictures and plan on coming to our art shows later this spring to see just how beautiful they are.

About Mrs. Euken's Art Mooseum

*I am married to Mark and have 2 children, Whitney and Bradley and 2 grandsons. *I LOVE my job! I taught kindergarten and first grade in Red Oak for 26 years and I am now teaching K-3 art! I have around 350 students. This has been my lifelong dream. *While not working on things for school, I enjoy crocheting, weaving, camping, cooking, cake decorating & most of all, spending time with my granddchildren.

3 responses »

  1. Wow, These are so beautiful! I love the unity and the personal connection! FromMs.Morgan in Manila, Philippines
    Art Teacher at International School Manila
    artitude.jimdo.com

  2. Mama Cormier says:

    Beautiful work. I’m inspired to try something like this with my students.

Leave a Reply

