I’m Lovin’ It!!!!

Random 006 Random 005 Random 003 Random 002 Random 001

It just makes my day to see children that love to make art.  The smiles on their faces as they come into my art room don’t go un-noticed.  It gives me a heart warmed feeling to know that no matter how great or limited their artistic talent might be,  they are enjoying creating and using their imaginations.

When we finished a project early I used to always try to have another project for them to start on right away.  This worked well for some children but too often there were issues with too many projects going on at once.  Now,  I try to give the children what we call “free drawing” time.  I always make sure I have plenty of drawing paper and pencils on hand.  I also have lots of “how to” drawing books for the children to use.  I tell the kids that drawing is kind of like reading,  you can never practice too much.

What I have noticed since I have added our “free drawing” time,  is that many of the kids that often were messing around and not getting their work done were now working harder than ever to have their free drawing time.  They used to depend on me for ideas on what I thought they should draw.  Now,  they are letting their imaginations and creativity kick in,  without needing my assistance and I couldn’t be happier.

2 responses »

  1. mamacormier says:

    I’ve discovered the same thing. Just recently I let children draw once their art project was complete. Some of them loved it so much that they wanted to stay in at recess to continue drawing. I can see starting a drawing club in the near future.

    • I think there are so many games and electronic devices out there that children today don’t have the opportunity to draw like we did when we were young. They look at drawing as a “treat” which I think is bitter sweet. I have been encouraging my students to ask for art supplies for Christmas instead of the electronic devices that are so expensive and you can’t imagine how excited they are about that idea.

Leave a Reply

