color wheel 001

color wheel 002

color wheel 004

color wheel 007

As the Developemnetal Kindergarteners learned about the color wheel, they also learned about sharing and helping one another. First, we talked about the color wheel and what it was. They had already learned about the pirmary colors, red, yellow and blue earlier this year. They had also learned about mixing these colors to get secondary colors.
In this leasson, students learned what this looks like when organized by a color wheel, or “color tire” and one of the students put it. Much to my surprise, they also asked about the colors opposite each other on the color wheel. I explained to them that these are what we call our complimentary colors. I had not planned on incorporating this into my lesson on this day, but they wanted to learn it. They quickly cuaght on and had fun telling me the various complimentary colors.

Next, the children were given piles of objects that were a collection of various colors and they had to sort them and place them on the appropriate colored paper for their class color wheel. They had a lot of fun doing this. I hot glude these in place and they now have a large color wheel to refer back to. They were very excited to learn that this will be posted in our art room for all of the children in our building to use, since they had done such a nice job on it.

About Mrs. Euken's Art Mooseum

*I am married to Mark and have 2 children, Whitney and Bradley and 2 grandsons. *I LOVE my job! I taught kindergarten and first grade in Red Oak for 26 years and I am now teaching K-3 art! I have around 350 students. This has been my lifelong dream. *While not working on things for school, I enjoy crocheting, weaving, camping, cooking, cake decorating & most of all, spending time with my granddchildren.

2 responses »

  1. pat says:

    Teresa,

    Congrats on your article in School Arts! It is beautiful and some of the most amazing bottle cap art I’ve ever seen!

    :)Pat

  2. pat says:

    Teresa,

    Congrats on your article in School Arts! It is beautiful and some of the most amazing bottle cap art I’ve ever seen!

    :)Pat

Leave a Reply

